Letter to The Great A’Tuin, Cosmic Turtle

The Great A'Tuin, Cosmic Turtle

Dear Great A’Tuin, Cosmic Turtle,

This last week I’m feeling particularly sensitive to the enormous uncertainty in a couple of key areas of my life. Given your awesome power and supreme wonderfulness, I just thought I’d mention it on the off chance that you have a spare moment to look into it. I am mindful of the great burden that you carry (the Earth is pretty big, even for a cosmic turtle) – so I understand if you don’t have time today. Perhaps tomorrow?

Respectfully, I’d like to know:

  • What am I going to do with the rest of my life?
  • What is my calling?
  • What is my gift?
  • How can I leverage my gift to find a career that I will love?
  • Why have those beautiful Lloyd pumps sold out? … OK, I just stuck that one in – I’m sad, but I’ll get over it. Unless you really would like to ship those lovely shoes this way… No? OK.

Sorry, Great A’Tuin, when I think that you aren’t paying attention I seek direction from other less exalted deities – so I sought divine guidance from Google. Google brought me a profound statement from one of my favourite authors, “To learn which questions are unanswerable, and not to answer them: this skill is most needful in times of stress and darkness.” Ursula K. Le Guin, The Left Hand of Darkness.

Without wanting to wallow, or even to over-dramatise, I think this could be described as a time of stress and darkness – and so the message is clear. To be comfortable without answers to these questions may be the first step on a path leading towards comfort and light. That my friend, Great A’Tuin, is truly the path I’d like to take. But can I really be comfortable when the result of all this uncertainty is a rather nasty heart-burny sort of feeling?

I will seek to adopt a more Zen-like state of acceptance of uncertainty while I search for answers to my questions. Obviously a blissful state of comfort and enlightenment is some way off, but anything you can do to help would be much appreciated.

Your humble servant, Sharon (residing on Earth – the large disc on your back)

PS. To be honest – I used to be pretty sure I had the answers to these questions, but I’ve discarded a lot of “certainty” lately.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

