Know thyself

Gorgeous Knickers, Know Thyself Image Collage

Know thyself

“He who knows others is wise; he who knows himself is enlightened.” Lao Tzu

Who knows you best? You do, right? Well, funnily enough, maybe not. Lately I’ve surprised myself by learning a lot about ME. The source of my insight into me is Pinterest. I love to “Pin” images that inspire me onto my Pinterest board. I can happily while away an hour searching for images of places that I love, styles that I love, designers… movies… visual expressions… I get an enormous amount of pleasure, and yes, inspiration, from re-visiting this pin Board and regarding my images.

The extraordinary thing I’ve discovered is that this pin Board has begun to reflect back a picture of myself. …and, what’s more, I’m watching how I am evolving and changing over time! For a person who is confused about who they are – this insight into “self” is both revealing and valuable. A treasure.

Apparently my feeling of a loss of identity is not unique. A lot of mothers go through this. A study in New York Magazine titled “Love My Kids, Hate My Life.” explains “Many women lose their identities when they become mothers. This loss of self, career or even friends can be disorienting.” Further, validating something that I always suspected, the report says “the bar has risen and the expectations are daunting”…“Stay-at-Work moms who continue in their careers and do double duty at home can feel resentful and simply wiped out”. Man-oh-man, do I know that feeling. It is hard to do the things that maintain your own identity when you are stumbling through life, too tired to fight – just doing what needs to be done.

You might appreciate my pleasure and surprise then, when I looked at my Pinterest board and realised that I was looking at me. About 18 months ago, in preparation for our New Year’s Resolutions a friend and I were “taking stock”and we were writing down our “words” – those single words that sum us up. I struggled. In fact, I gave up. Now I can see that my words are: opulent, feminine, classic and eclectic.

I can see my style and preferences are for:

  • Harmonious colours. I am happiest with a muted palette of classic neutral, black, white – and a touch of “old” peachy, pink.
    The exception to this is when I splash out with…
  • Red! I adore red – all shades. A lot of it at once, or just a splash.
  • Contrasts! I love them – in colour, texture and style. Visualise black & white, bold & muted, leather & lace, modern & vintage.
  • Depth. I love rich, heritage laden architectural environments and lush green spaces.

So get Pinning! You may be surprised at who you find lurking on your Board ☺

PS. For any other mothers reading this, you are not alone. Refer to this blog post for insight on why you may feel the way you do.

3 Responses to “Know thyself”

  1. watch dogs ps3

    I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with
    the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did
    you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one these days.

    Reply
    • Sharon

      Thank you for your feedback! This is a customised version of a standard WordPress theme called Duet. However, I have designed & created my logo and wall-paper. So far I have not added any CSS to the design – but I probably will! I love tinkering with the design as much as I enjoy the writing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

