Dissolving Cosmic Dissonance.

Bring on 2013! Getting on with my New Year's Resolutions.

Bring on 2013… in August.

It’s August. I still don’t have my New Years Resolutions sorted.

That, and mis-matched underwear, are on top of the list of things with the power to cause me an internal state that I liken to cosmic dissonance.

I have to wonder if I should now just wait until December and pretend 2013 didn’t happen. Or, I could negotiate pro-rata completion targets given that I’ve only left myself four months to demonstrate progress and/or achieve objectives.

Why-oh-why do I care? Toughie.

The absence of resolutions seems to suggest that I gave up on 2013 before it even began. Probably right. But wrong! Very wrong! Also, it is hard to demonstrate progress without benchmarks and milestones. I can say “I launched my blog, Gorgeous Knickers. Yay!”. Much better to say “The first milestone in the work-stream “takeover the world”, namely to launch my own personal blog, was achieved ahead of schedule and on-budget.”

But mostly, I worry that we don’t plan to fail – we fail to plan. Yep. I like a plan. Keeps me on track.

“If you fail to plan, you are planning to fail!” Benjamin Franklin

Preparing my New Year’s Resolutions is a thing I take very seriously. I revel in it! Love it. Meditate on it for days. I set high-level objectives. I disaggregate the high-level objectives into smaller mini-objectives and then break that further into measurable weekly tasks. I am thinking that maybe I have spent too long working on projects in corporate land. Possibly I’m over-complicating resolution setting. Possibly.

This year though, really I did literally, give up. So, better late than never. I love a good cliché! Time to set some resolutions. Three will do.

  1. Be more confident.
  2. Try new things.
  3. Develop a career plan.
    a) Focus career building activities.
    b) Build the skill base related to desired future career.

There now. That wasn’t so hard, was it? I even have a couple of mini-objectives there. Time to get on with it then.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

